Another Bargello medley

I have just finished the bargello medley project. I thought it might take me to Christmas to finish, but it has taken a few days longer. The stitching is finished but the whole thing has been, as often with me, pulled out of shape.  A bit of stretching coming up!img_4557

The fabric is 18ct aida in pale green and three strands of DMC cotton was used throughout. The central section is partly outlined with a whipped stem stich in cream. This part is stitched in copper colours with blue and green for the inserts. Florentine Signets is the name that Pauline Fischer and Anabel Lasker give to this pattern in their book Bargello Magic. The version here is a slight adaptation. I originally wanted to just use blues and greens for the rest of the piece, but added a bit of grey to avoid too much blue and green together. Other than the Florentine Signets, the other patterns are all used twice. The finished piece is 290mmx205mm.

I have now acquired my own personal stamp and you can just about make out my name on the lower part of the right hand side. The stamp works quite well on embroidery work where there is some unstitched fabric, as in crewel work or most blackwork. Not so good for bargello though, where all of the fabric is covered in stitches.  Here I had to try and stitch around the name, which is a bit awkward. Still nothing ventured, nothing gained!

A few days off stitching then back to work in the New Year. Happy New Year and happy stitching to one and all!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Another Bargello medley

  1. Thank you for your kind appreciation. Not sure about getting my work on display. Perhaps something online may be possible. But I am fairly ignorant of online stuff. Thanks again.

  2. Write a book. Americans, and I assume others around the world, are returning to simpler activities like needlework. And we love books. You are talented and prolific, so I’m sure you have a book in you. Share! Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

