Another Fused Diamond and some new threads

Since returning from my holiday in the Cotswolds I have managed to  complete two projects and made a start on a third. The first was another in the Fused Diamond series from the book Bargello Magic by Pauline Fischer and Anabel Lasker. This time it was No 2 in the series.  For this one I used a 16ct Aida fabric in white and the threads  were all Paternayan wool. I only needed one strand for the 16ct fabric. The basic outline is stitched in white. The inside is made up of  pinks and greens. Four shades of pinks plus a red contrast with the four shades of green.  Here it is in all its glory.P1070890My second project was a wrap to go round a glass candle jar. I have done three of these before, all with different patterns and colour schemes.  For this one I chose a simple variation on a pattern called Pointed Curves from The Bargello Book by Frances Salter.  The fabric is 18ct Aida in light green.  For the threads I chose DMC cotton and used four shades of grey, all stitched with two strands. Here is the finished wrap.P1070893For my current project I am using some lovely new threads. I call them threads, but they are in fact primarily for knitting.  Luxury silk from Debbie Bliss is what it says on the label and luxurious is what they feel like. Probably best used for knitting, but I liked them so much that I just went ahead and bought some anyway.  I had nothing in mind, but have just started out on an abstract design of my own which will feature wavy lines and a few spirals. Making it up as I go along. The silk is rather expensive, but was on sale at half price in a little wool shop in Pittenweem. I bought three colours, gold, red and purple. Here they are. Happy stitching!P1070891

 

 

Leave a Reply

