First Signs of Arthritis

Arthritis is something that comes to most people sooner or later.  Over the past year or so I have noticed some definite signs in my left hand.  Nothing particularly serious, but noticeable nevertheless.  The middle finger of that hand is the guilty culprit.  Instead of keeping in alignment with the other fingers some time ago it started to veer off on its own to the left, leaving a clear gap between it and the index finger.  Evidence of this can be seen below.

P1040615The cause of this veering off seems to be the middle knuckle as this has become quite swollen in comparison with the other fingers.  So far it is not in any way painful.  I am aware of it and not just visually.  There is a fairly constant minor sensation coming from the knuckle in particular.   As it is my left hand and I am right handed, this development has not affected me in any way so far.  The left hand is normally just used to hold or balance things.  Holding a frame for example when I am stitching.  I have been aware of this for some time, but decided that this was as good a time as any, to take note if the development and photo it, so that I have a record of the hand which I can now use for comparison with later photos.  This way I can more accurately track any changes.  I can only assume that it will get worse over the coming years, but hopefully this will be a very slow process.  The right hand has not remained completely immune, alas.  The upper knuckle of the index finger is very slightly swollen.  Luckily this particular development has had no affect so far on using that finger and I am only occasionally aware of any sensation from it.  This is the finger that I most need for stitching and just about everything else.  So I hope this one stays as it is or develops extremely slowly.  Signs of old age and unavoidable alas!

9 thoughts on “First Signs of Arthritis

  1. Hi.. How are you doing? Any medications? Have you had it checked? I ignored the signs of my OA and it got worst…. I sought for treatments as the level of pain gradually increased.. I had physical therapy sessions for 3 months… didn’t work. I had chiropractic… didn’t give any positive results. I switched to stem cell therapy and finally, I have found the appropriate treatment for me. The treatment went well, I had it with Dr Grossman, an orthopedic surgeon specializing in sports injury. Tom, one of my tennis buddies, who had patellar tendonitis recommended him. It has been 2 years now, still no pain for me… I just hope that the effect will last.. I hope you’ll find the best treatment for you too.

  2. As soon as I read the title of your article, I thought about your stitching… I hope the process will be very very slow, and not too painful. Can anything help slowing the process? Physio, maybe? Omega-3? Flax seeds? Meditation? : ) I hope you’ll be fine, Alister. Keep on stitching as long as you can!

    • Mercie Marie-Josée, how it will affect my stitching is in my mind now. I need to engage in a bit of research about arthritis. I am about as ignorant as one can get on this subject. Will need to change soon. I like all of your suggestions and I must get back to practising yoga again.

      • Be careful with the research, not to scare yourself too much with the worst case scenarios you might find. You should get a doctor’s (or two) opinion when you’re ready. I wish flax seeds, and omega-3 could help, because less “drugs” is always better. BUT research say meditation helps controlling pain… and yoga can not hurt for sure! Courage!

  3. What a pain in the proverbial – as well as the hands. If it’s any consolation, you’re in very good company, a great many people who knit and sew have similar problems. I think you just have to accept it and then do the best you can. As you say, probably of the slow to develop type and there are some good pain killers available these days. Don’t let it stop you stitching!

    • Thank you for your kind words Anny. I am, so far, pretty lucky. I know of some people who suffer tremendously with arthritis. At the moment it does not affect any aspect of my life. But I need to use this time to start learning about what might happen next and what, if anything can be done about it.

  4. Thanks for sharing your condition…i came to visit just after my mother told me that she is having some deformity in the fingers. Her hand is very much similar to you. How are you know and what measures you are doing to slow down the process. I am going to try homeopathic medicine for her with the help of doctor of this http://www.usehomeopathy.com site, who had helped me many times previously. Thanks again and best wishes!!!!

    • Looking back at the photo from that post there has been little if any change. The middle finger is still slightly enlarged and misshapen. From time to time it gets a bit painful, but so far, nothing unbearable. I haven’t tried anything to affect the finger, partly I suppose as it’s on my left hand, which is only used in a supporting role. Good luck with the homeopathy and best wishes for your mother.

Leave a Reply

