Fused Diamonds and a Biscornu

After a brief hiatus I have now completed stitching Fused Diamonds No3.  The delay was due to running out of one of the colours.  This was my first time using Persian Yarn and I found it very pleasant to stitch with.  Unlike some other wool threads, Persian Yarn comes in three strands and does not fluff so much.  I used all three strands for Fused Diamonds.  I have already ordered some more skeins in different colours for another project.  For this one I will experiment with just one or two of the strands.  As is usually the case with my stitching work, I have no real idea of what to do with the piece now that it is finished.  Here is what it looks like attached to its backing.

While waiting for the missing Persian Yarn threads, I decided to indulge myself with another Biscornu.  I love stitching these little objects and this one is No 131 from Louison, who puts up a new Biscornu design twice a week on her delightful blog.  The fabric is an 18ct Aida in pale blue and the thread is two strands of cotton thread from Les Fils du Rhin, called Embruns.  The finished biscornu now hangs down the side of my computer screen.  Below are the two sides of the biscornu.  Good stitching to everyone!

One thought on “Fused Diamonds and a Biscornu

  1. Fantastic job with the diamonds. I know what you mean though, I have a pile of finished needlepoints sitting on a chair in the dining room – no idea what to do with them.

    I know that it can be hard to find all the Paterna shades – there is a shop in Burford who have an online store – perhaps worth contacting them if you haven’t already tried them. http://www.needlework.co.uk/index.html

    I was in there a few weeks ago and they seemed to have a reasonable stock. The yarn looked lovely. I might try some as it does get excellent reviews.

Leave a Reply

